Message - Arctic Action #148: House Budget Resolution Clean! Thank you's needed
    Neighbors & Nature Forum | E-Design Forum | DesignCommunity        

Posted by  Northern Alaska Environmental Center on March 22, 2001 at 22:17:06:

===== A message from the 'arctic-action' mailing list =====

We're very happy to report that the House Budget Resolution does not include
any assumption of revenues from the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge!
Despite President Bush's request to assume $1.2 billion in new revenues from
drilling in the Refuge, the Budget Committee chose to leave the Refuge out
of the Resolution. According to Budget Committee Chairman Jim Nussle, "That
was not a battle we wanted to have in the budget."

Representatives Ed Markey and Nancy Johnson, sponsors of HR.770: the Arctic
Refuge Wilderness bill, both submitted letters to Chairman Nussle urging him
to reject the Presidentís request to assume revenues from drilling activity.
These letters were cosigned by 56 Democrats and 13 Republicans,
respectively, and showed true bipartisan support for protecting the
biological heart of the Refuge.

Please take the time to write and thank the following Representatives who
helped to keep the Arctic Refuge out of the House Budget Resolution.

You can contact your Representative at:

The Honorable ___
US House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515


(202) 224-3121

Democrats who signed on to Rep. Markey's letter:
Gary Ackerman
Thomas Allen
Tammy Baldwin
Howard Berman
Earl Blumenauer
David Bonior
Rick Boucher
John Conyers
Elijah Cummings
Peter DeFazio
William Delahunt
Rosa DeLauro
Peter Deutsch
Lloyd Doggett
Eliot Engel
Bob Filner
Barney Frank
Martin Frost
Tony Hall
Jane Harman
Alcee Hastings
Maurice Hinchey
Joseph Hoeffel
Rush Holt
Mike Honda
Jay Inslee
Marcy Kaptur
Dale Kildee
Dennis Kucinich
James Langevin
Barbara Lee
Sander Levin
John Lewis
Nita Lowey
Bill Luther
Carolyn Maloney
Jim Maloney
Jim McDermott
James Moran
Jerrold Nadler
Grace Napolitano
John Olver
Frank Pallone
David Phelps
Lynn Rivers
Tim Roemer
Bernie Sanders
Adam Smith
Pete Stark
Ellen Tauscher
Stephanie Tubbs-Jones
Mark Udall
Maxine Waters
Mel Watt
Robert Wexler
Lynn Woolsey

Republicans who signed on to Rep. Johnson's letter:
Charles Bass
Judy Biggert
Sherwood Boehlert
Vernon Ehlers
Rodney Frelighuysen
Wayne Gilchrest
Jim Greenwood
Connie Morella
Marge Roukema
Jim Saxton
Christopher Shays
Christopher Smith


Follow Up Messages:

Post a Follow Up Message -




Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:

Friends        DesignCommunity        Architecture Forum        3D CAD Forum        Environmental Design        GameSpace        Search
© 1999-2000 Artifice, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.  This document is provided for on-line viewing only.